Jesus truly understands

Oh, what a beautiful morning and what a lovely day it is going to be!  This is the day that the Lord has made!  Let us rejoice and be glad in it!   It is still unfamiliar territory for me to think about Jesus’ life here on earth.  To think that He could possibly know how it feels to have rage build up inside and want to take it out on everyone around.  Or how it feels to want to drown the stresses of the day with alcohol or drugs.  How could Jesus, my Savior, know what it means to want to feel loved so badly that he would have been tempted to act upon those feelings with a woman?  It boggles my mind to really, fully, digest that concept that no matter what pains, desires, or addictions, I have ever felt in my life, (even those I’ve not felt yet,) Jesus has already experienced them, and worse, and He understands.  Because He understands, He is able to deal with me gently on these issues.  He’s not waiting with gavel in hand, ready to smack me down when I am not strong enough to stand against my temptations, He’s holding his hand out to me and whispering, “We can get through this together.”   The Bible says that we, the church, are the body of Christ.  There’s a song by Casting Crowns that says …..But if we are the body
Why aren’t His arms reaching?
Why aren’t His hands healing?
Why aren’t His words teaching?
And if we are the body
Why aren’t His feet going?
Why is His love not showing them there is a way?
There is a way
 There is a way girls.  Let Jesus reach out to you through the hands of a fellow 12 Stepper.  Let Jesus reach out through you to a fellow 12 Stepper.  It doesn’t matter where you’ve been, who you are, what you’ve done, who did what to you, what you’ve felt, who you’ve hurt.  Jesus is holding His hand out to you and He’s whispering, “I’m here, I know, I’ve been there, I understand.  We can get through this together.” 

Leave a comment