Into His presence

I’ve been in such a funk these past two weeks. The whole time I’ve known what was necessary for me to do but I’ve neglected it.  I allow every little distraction to keep me from spending quality time in prayer and in the Word.  If I find myself with time on my hands and know that I should spend that time with God I will create a distraction…any reason why now would not be a good time to spend time.  I’m kind of an all or nothing type when it comes to my spiritual life.  So, when given the choice, I tend to choose nothing.  Ooh, I hate having to be honest about this. 

However, I went to bible study yesterday morning and though I spent a lot of the time being offended about other things, my heart kept crying out to God, asking for Him to give me an open mind and open heart.  The lesson was actually just the pastors mother giving her testimonies of how the Holy Spirit has moved in her life over and over again.  It is always good to hear testimonies.  But one thing she spoke is that it is imperative to spend time in His presence, praying, and seeking.  If we don’t, we will find ourselves in a desert.  That was for me I’m sure.  So simple and yet so complicated all at the same time. 

I took the time this morning.  I didn’t create a distraction by assuming that my daughter would interrupt me in the middle of my prayer time.  I gave her her breakfast and then I went in to the living room, got down on my knees, and prayed.  I was amazed at how freely everything came out of me.  When I had no more words to speak, I sat there quietly in His presence and waited for Him to speak into my heart.  Sure enough, He did.  I was reminded of how Jesus went to be alone with God often.  It was to renew His own spirit; find comfort in the presence of His Father.  What an awesome lesson to learn.  God is so good.

3 responses to “Into His presence

  1. Thank you Barb, I really needed to hear that.

  2. Barb, I am so glad I found your blog! I love reading about your walk with Jesus.

    I have a blog now too. I think if you click on my username it will take you there.

  3. Sumi! What a nice suprise! I’m sorry but your username won’t let me click on it. I keep trying to figure out how to find you!

Leave a Reply

