Sick but cute

I woke up at 1 AM Thursday morning to the sound of my little girl crying out in her sleep.  I checked on her and she was still sleeping so I went back to bed.  No sooner did my head hit the pillow I heard her cry again.  This time, she was awake, sitting up in the bed.  She was sick…..all over the bed.  :sick:  Bless her little heart.  I cleaned her up, cleaned up her bed, and began searching desperately for something to give her to settle her stomach.  We had no Sprite, no nothing.  I was just horrified for her because I remember how aweful it was for me when I was sick last summer after my surgery and I could find no relief whatsoever.  We both were crying. 

I finally found the anti-nausea medicine that was prescribed for me and I was so tempted to give it to her but I decided to call the doctor first.  Thank God I did!  I spoke with a triage nurse who reassured me that this was just a virus and gave me step by step instructions on how to handle it. 

She told me to not give my daughter anything at all to drink until she had not been sick for 2 hours and then exactly how much and what to give her from that point on.  The nurse explained that vomiting is the bodies way of getting rid of what doesn’t need to be there so that it can get better quicker.  Offering anti-nausea meds before it’s necessary will only pro-long the illness.  She gave me all the warning signs to watch for. 

My little girl and I camped out in the living room with a bucket and an old blanket laid over the couch just in case she missed the bucket.  She was so pitiful.  I’d stroke her hair and let her know I was here and that we’d get through this together.  One time she looked at me and said,  “Thank you.”  I prayed over her and she began to calm down.  She slept for a couple of hours and when she woke she felt much better so I gave her an ounce of water.  That stayed down so I gave her an ounce of apple juice.  Up it all came. 

I explained to her that every time she got sick she was fighting the virus and I told her how brave she was and how I was so proud of her for kicking the virus’ butt.  She looked at me rather puzzled and said, “Virus’ don’t have butts!”  😆 

And there you have it.  My brilliant and beautiful little girl can be sick as can be and still have a great sense of humor!

3 responses to “Sick but cute

  1. I’m so sorry that you little girl isn’t feeling well. Mine isn’t either but she’s just dealing w/a fever no vomiting at all though she doesn’t have much appitite.

  2. Barb you are such a good mommy. 🙂 I hope she is feeling better.

    I’m impressed that she caught on to ‘virus butts’. 🙂

  3. Thank you girls! She is much better today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

