Walking Testimonies

I think I’ve shared this before but I’ll share it again.  Many years ago when I was in my 20’s I began my journey to recovery.  Of course, at the time I had no idea that the process was beginning.  All I knew was that suddenly everything was turning upside down.  I was beginning to face certain abuses at the hands of my father and it was time to stop pretending that it didn’t really bother me or had not affected me in a negative way.  There were other things going on at the time as well and I was really feeling like the world was crashing down on me and I was completely powerless to stop it.  I remember praying as I was driving one day.  (Drive time is my favorite time for prayer. J )  I asked God, “Why do I have to go through this?”  As I prayed that prayer a thought came into the back of my head.  “Because you’ll need it someday.”  That was odd.  How in the world would I need this someday?  The notion was completely ridiculous to me at the time.  It’s not so ridiculous now.   

I have learned since that every experience of abuse, every bad choice I’ve made, every horrible and filthy thing I’ve ever done, has been covered in Gods grace in such a way that now I draw from those experiences to help others and show them that they can find healing through Christ.  Each of us have a unique set of circumstances in our lives that God can and will use to help someone else through the same type situation if we let Him. 

Consider this….that which we are ashamed of and embarrassed by now, may already be affecting someone else in a positive way because they see how we have gone through it and how our lives have changed for the better.  For instance, when you feel like everyone is snickering behind your back because they all know what you’ve done, think of that one person who isn’t snickering because they are in that very same boat and they are watching you to see how you’ve dealt with it.  You may be bringing someone to Christ just by how you are living your life in spite of the obstacles you face!  I don’t know about you but for me, that is one big selah moment!  Stop and think about that!   

For we know that all things work together for good to them that love God.” –Rom. 8:28

Leave a Reply

