St. Johns Wort…the miracle drug

I don’t know if I will be able to truly describe this but I’ll try.  I had been going through a depressed state for a couple months and couldn’t seem to shake it.  My doctor suggested trying St. Johns Wort as it has been proven in Europe to work and is, as she put it, just a slightly lesser dose than what she would prescribe in a regular antidepressant.  I ran, did not walk, to the nearest healthfood store and picked up a bottle for $7.99.  The first few days of taking it I felt really sleepy.  The doctor warned me that I’d feel a bit off balance for a while but it would even out….just as if I was taking something prescribed. 

Well, it’s been about 3 weeks now and I’m feeling fine!  I can tell the St. Johns Wort is working.  I am not feeling like I’m no good to anyone for any reason any more.  And the biggest thing I have noticed is that I simply cannot even force myself to obsess over the things that bother me anymore.  Goodness knows I’ve had more than ample opportunity to feel really bad about some things and my normal behavior would be to obsess over them.  It was like the hurtful feelings were a drug and so I’d obsess so that I could remain in those feelings.  Somebody here has to know what I’m talking about.  But now, when I am feeling hurt, I am able to move on.  When I try to obsess it just doesn’t work.  It’s like my feelings hit a table and refuse to go down any further.  I am amazed at how good I feel now. 

If anyone who reads this has any issues with depression and are not on prescribed meds for it already, I would like to suggest St. Johns Wort.  It’s certainly worth a try and it’s much cheaper than prescriptions.  And…..It works! 

Leave a Reply

