Wild hairs

We moved into this house 6 years ago this month. (I think…..close enough for government work.)  When we moved in, the dining room had this god aweful apple wall paper up to the god awful chair rail which was obviously slapped up with paint thrown on it so hopefully potential buyers would like it.  The floor is covered in some horrendous office style carpet that I’ve given up trying to shampoo.  It’s filthy. 

A couple years ago we decided to get rid of the wall paper and chair rails and paint.  However, taking off the chair rails left us with the top coat of drywall ripped off in places.  My brother in law who has done drywall all his life wouldn’t hear of helping us fix it even though he lived with us, rent free, for a year!  He told us how to fix it and it made me so intimidated that I was afraid I’d really screw it up if I tried.  We bought the Kilz, paint brush, etc, back when we took the wallpaper down but we never did anything with it.  Until today.

Nick asked me the other day when we were going to fix the walls and I just looked at him like he was crazy.  Guess I’ve looked at the horrid mess so long that I just didn’t see it anymore.  But today I got a wild hair and decided to try to repair one section.  That went pretty well.  So I figured it would be a shame to have to clean the paint brush after doing such a small portion and another section of the wall was repaired.  This went on until I had made my way all the way around the room!  In the next day or so I will go back over it with another coat and then I’ll be buying some paint.  It’s not a perfect job but I hear faux finishes can hide a multitude of sins. 

I’m tired. 

One response to “Wild hairs

  1. Good for you. 🙂

    Sorry the BIL wouldn’t help, it was the least he could have done.

    Do you have pictures?

Leave a Reply

