Updates on life in general

God is good all the time.  He’s good through the good stuff and He’s good through the bad stuff.  It’s been months and months since I’ve posted here.  I got kinda hooked on myspace so that’s where I’ve spent the majority of my online blogging time. 

These past 7 or 8 months have been pretty hard.  Some things happened that were never supposed to happen to anyone, anywhere, but they did.  I would not ever have wished this to happen to even my worst enemy but I have to say, God showed His true colors through it all.  His word says that what is meant to destroy us is used for the good of those who love Him.  Well, something like that anyway.  And I’ve seen so much blessing come out of so much turmoil.  I wish I could explain it all here but I can’t.  The worst is past and the good stuff is coming around the corner. 

The 12 Step group is growing.  The group I left to begin this new one has been sending me the people they’ve had to turn away.  A couple of them have remained.  And now that the old group has all graduated their steps, some of those ladies will be joining the new group so they will still have a support group.  A couple ladies came a few weeks ago and they’d seen the group online by doing a search for 12 step groups.  I thought it was pretty cool that they found us that way.  Anyway, there’s not been one meeting when it wasn’t clear that the only people who showed were the ones God wanted to be there.  Hoaky as that may sound, I  believe it.  Sometimes only one person would show and that one person just really needed to have some one on one time to talk and get some things out.  Sometimes only two would show and those two seemed to connect in a way that they might not have if more people were here.  Sometimes it’s only been a few brand new ladies and it was good to be able to explain the program to them without alienating the older members.  So, yes, it’s been a God event every time.  And I know this is where I’m supposed to be.  I never dread it.  I never wish I didn’t have to be here.  And I always leave knowing it wasn’t about me and how well I led the group.  I just show up to unlock the door and let the Holy Spirit do the rest. 

Homeschooling became a family affair during the last couple months of school.  I have been homeschooling Arimi and she has learned so quickly.  Math and reading are pretty easy for her and she loves our bi-weekly trip to the library.  Simon was struggling in public school though.  He’s had a hard time since we put him back in ps in the third grade but he stuck to it and kept trying.  This year proved to be the breaking point though.  Simon is extremely intelligent and his TCAP scores each year have been through the roof.  Literally, he scores almost off the page in every subject.  But he has been failing.  He is not able to organize his work so getting homework turned in was like pulling teeth.   His classmates were bullying him and his teachers were rolling their eyes and declaring that he just wasn’t doing his work.  I know he was doing the work because he was sitting at the dining room table for hours after school every day working!  When the bullying finally turned into outright physical attacks on Simon where the principle was neglecting to issue proper punishments because Simon made the mistake of using words to stand up for himself, we decided it was time to bring him home.  And wouldn’t you know it but Simon has been flourishing ever since. 

Adventures seem to be on the horizon around here too as I am leaning towards what I think may be a calling to get a bachelors degree in biblical studies.  At the moment I’m not sure exactly how to go about this but I believe I must do it.  At the moment I’ve decided to go with an online bible college that is free to audit courses and charges $20 per course if it’s for credit.   Where Gods leading will go from there, I’m not sure.  I do know that I have recently encountered many people who have been burned by the church and have turned to paganism or atheism.  That’s not ok with me.  Jesus met people where they were and just the way they were.  He loved them and he gently led them to the truth.  He didn’t hit them over the head with a bible and tell them they were going to hell.  I believe whatever ministry I’m called to, it will partly be to show others that Christianity is not snobby and it’s not full of hate.  It’s love in the truest form. 

So, that’s all for now.  I can’ t see too well anymore after staring at this bright white screen for so long.  Thank God I can type well. 

 

2 responses to “Updates on life in general

  1. It is so good to see you post here. I’ve missed you! I pray everything continues to go well with homeschooling the kids & you starting work on your Bach. degree. (((Barb)))

  2. I just came to check on your blog after months and saw this new post. Well, it’s not new anymore…LOL

    Anyhow, I have missed you and was wondering how you are. Hugs, Barb.

Leave a Reply

